Welcome to GoodRecords.com

…an adventure in listening.

1808 Lower Greenville Ave.

Dallas, TX 75206


Songs of Patience

More Views

Alberta Cross

Songs of Patience

12" LP

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

The title of Alberta Cross' 2012 studio album, Songs of Patience is, in many ways, literal. It's been three long years since the band last released a full-length album. The highs and lows of their journey raised a grander set of ideas, infusing the disc's title with additional universal meaning. After touring extensively on their debut, Broken Side Of Time, with bands like Them Crooked Vultures, Oasis, and Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, and stopping at festivals like Bonnaroo and Sasquatch, Alberta Cross headed to an old, abandoned house in the middle of nowhere near Woodstock, NY. There, they braved freezing winter and embraced a sense of the building's haunted past to envision ideas for a new record. In the end, the record is the sum of three year's worth of parts - a struggle that concluded in victory. Three different producers, Joe Chiccarelli, Mike Daly and Claudius Mittendorfer. It opens new possibilities for the band's visceral live show, a notable facet of the group defined by their raucous, gritty onstage performances that swell the tracks into bigger, more expansive versions of themselves.


The second studio album from cosmopolitan indie rock outfit Alberta Cross, which is now just Petter Ericson Stakee (Sweden) and Terry Wolfers (England), and a cast of rotating sidemen, took three years, multiple studios, and five different producers to get right. The resulting, aptly named Songs of Patience is a visceral yet carefully honed backslap of a record that sneaks up on you like a predator, then buys you a drink rather than tearing your throat out. After the release of 2009's Broken Side of Time, the group hit the road and never looked back, sharing the stage with the likes of Them Crooked Vultures, Oasis, and Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, and it would appear that some of the heaviness of those three bands rubbed off on the duo. Big, bold, and occasionally beautiful, Alberta Cross is at its best when it levels the playing field between gargantuan and lovely, as evidenced by stand-out cuts like "Magnolia," "Lay Down," and the slow burn, midtempo anthem "Come On Maker." More mid-'90s alternative rock than 21st century indie rock, Songs of Patience will resonate with fans of earthy yet cosmic college rock staples like Grant Lee Buffalo and Mercury Rev, but it owes a great deal to current rustbelt crooners like My Morning Jacket and Band of Horses as well, and while it may occasionally get bogged down by its near constant need to reach the nosebleed seats, the desperation that the band emits ultimately feels inclusive rather than brazen.

Additional Information

Artist Alberta Cross
Track Listing 1. Magnolia 2. Crate of Gold 3. Lay Down 4. Come on Maker 5. Ophelia on My Mind 6. Wasteland 7. I Believe in Everything 8. Life Without Warning 9. Money for the Weekend (Pocket Full of Shame) 10. Bonfires

© 2000-2013 Good Records Inc, A Division of the Good Umbrella.