Welcome to GoodRecords.com

…an adventure in listening.

1808 Lower Greenville Ave.

Dallas, TX 75206



More Views

Asobi Seksu


12" LP

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

James and Yuki have always been masters at creating musical textures; gauzy, cloudy dreamscapes for their slower songs and squalls of guitar and daisy-chained effect pedals for their barnstormers. What truly distinguishes them is that the band has now married this ability to a finely honed pop sensibility. The songs they write aren't just "pretty," they're melodically rich and incredibly catchy. As their captivating live show attests, Asobi Seksu have outgrown the comparisons to My Bloody Valentine and others, and have finally realized their potential as one of New York's greatest bands.


The cover art may resemble a Cocteau Twins record thanks to the handiwork of Vaughan Oliver, who designed a good share of the 4AD catalog, but for Fluorescence, Asobi Seksu take another step away from their shoegaze influences. On their fifth album (fourth if you skip the prior album of acoustic reworkings), the wall of distortion is minimized and Yuki Chikudate's vocals are pushed to the forefront to be left wavering in the wind. Her voice previously sounded sweet and gentle when buried in guitar swirl -- particularly on Citrus and the excellent self-titled debut. Up close and personal, it can be dodgy, especially when she aims at shrill high notes and skates around them. This style of singing, matched with the softer, glossier, ‘90s-sounding production of Chris Zane (Tokyo Police Club, the Walkmen), makes the material more in tune with the Cranberries than My Bloody Valentine. Fans of the early dream pop stuff may have difficulties accepting a cleaner, more synthesized pop approach. At the same time, the shimmering, slow-motion beat of “Counterglow” might pull in some new crossover fans, and James Hanna's guitar layering on “Trails” is a nice nod to their heavier past.

Additional Information

Artist Asobi Seksu
Track Listing Coming Up 4:03 Trails 4:00 My Baby 3:34 Perfectly Crystal 3:48 In My Head 2:55 Leave The Drummer Out There 6:42 Sighs 3:48 Deep Weird Sleep 1:55 Counterglow 4:08 Ocean 4:08 Trance Out 2:43 Pink Light 4:28

© 2000-2013 Good Records Inc, A Division of the Good Umbrella.