Welcome to GoodRecords.com

…an adventure in listening.

1808 Lower Greenville Ave.

Dallas, TX 75206


Wolfroy Goes To Town

More Views

Bonnie Prince Billy

Wolfroy Goes To Town

12" LP

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

Bonnie "Prince" Billy fans looking for a return to the surprisingly ornate, Grateful Dead-inspired country-folk of 2009’s Beware may come away a tad disappointed in the ultra-sparse yet warm and winning Wolfroy Goes to Town. The ten songs, nearly all of which arrive via guitar, bass, and Oldham's weathered croon, feel lived in and coveted. It’s typical Oldham fare, with highlights coming from opener “No Match,” which builds to a powerful, harmonious climax, and the nearly seven-minute “Black Captain,” an epic yarn of nobility and heartache that sounds like it’s been around for a century or two. Coming off like a murkier, more intimate version of 2010’s Wonder Show of the World with the Cairo Gang, Wolfroy’s all about lonesome beauty, and the idiosyncratic wordplay that has become Oldham's forte since settling on the Bonnie “Prince” Billy moniker.


Wolfroy Goes To Town was recorded in Kentucky and mixed by Shahzad Ismaily, Emmett Kelly and Will Oldham. In addition to Bonnie Prince Billy, the players on this record are: Ben Boye (keyboards and extra singing), Van Campbell (drums and percussion), Shahzad Ismaily (percussion, guitar, extra singing), Emmett Kelly (guitars, mandolin, harmony singing), Danny Kiely (basses) and Angel Olson (singing). Prior to the recording, the ten songs on Wolfroy Goes To Town were played by the whole band in performance at Chicago s Millennium Park in May of 2011. Some of the songs were played and sung by Bonny, Emmett Kelly and Angel Olson on the Free Florida tour that immediately followed. This is the first time any Bonny album has been previewed in public before it was made in the studio!

Additional Information

Artist Bonnie Prince Billy
Track Listing 1 No Match - 5:54 2 New Whaling - 5:39 3 Time to Be Clear - 4:03 4 New Tibet - 4:31 5 Black Captain - 6:35 6 Cows - 4:55 7 There Will Be Spring - 3:32 8 Quail and Dumplings - 4:57 9 We Are Unhappy - 6:46 10 Night Noises - 3:27

© 2000-2013 Good Records Inc, A Division of the Good Umbrella.