Welcome to GoodRecords.com

…an adventure in listening.

1808 Lower Greenville Ave.

Dallas, TX 75206



More Views

Holy Ghost!


12" LP

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

2013 release, the follow-up to the group's critically acclaimed 2011 debut album. Recorded and mixed at DFA Studios with the help of Chris Zane (Passion Pit, The Walkmen, Friendly Fires), it is front-to-back one of the finest Dance Pop records of 2013. The duo's last full-length was hailed as a ''classic pop album' by The Los Angeles Times and garnered three Best New Music awards on Pitchfork, who premiered the debut Dynamics single and video, 'Dumb Disco Ideas.'


Dynamics could be considered the first proper album from Alex Frankel and Nick Millhiser, whose self-titled debut as Holy Ghost! -- part singles compilation, part standard album -- was made incrementally over several years. It's undoubtedly steadier and unified, built for beginning-to-end listening. Nothing is quite as momentous as earlier A-sides like "Hold On" or "I Will Come Back," but the songs are more finely detailed and developed. It also sounds more like the work of a band than a production duo, due in part to more involvement from collaborators, such as Nancy Whang, who played the role of Shay Jones on the duo's 2011 cover of Ministry's "I Wanted to Tell Her"; she adds background vocals to half of the songs. Just as notably, Millhiser's choppy post-punk guitar is more prominent. Two of the album's best songs are also the slowest, placed in the middle of the sequence. "It Must Be the Weather" confronts stunted adulthood pensively yet optimistically; even as an instrumental, it's among the most well-crafted modern synth pop, constantly shifting in shape throughout six frosty and entrancing minutes. "I Wanna Be Your Hand," another highlight, is dreamier and more spaced-out than anything on the debut, and it has a drifting soft rock quality -- like America gone moody new wave -- that recalls Usher's "Looking 4 Myself." (An Empire of the Sun coincidence/connection between the songs is too complex to explain here.) The duo's more energetic side shines, too. On "Bridge and Tunnel," they're joined by a string section that features viola from Kelly Polar, and it's the closest the album gets to an "I Will Come Back," with percolating electronics and wistful lyrics about New York City clubbing. "Cheap Shots" closes the album on a sonically rippling, lyrically zinging note, like they're ready to leave early adulthood -- but not their New Order records -- to the past.

Additional Information

Artist Holy Ghost!
Track Listing 1 Okay - 4:33 2 Dumb Disco Ideas - 8:03 3 Changing of the Guard - 3:24 4 Dance a Little Closer - 4:24 5 It Must Be the Weather - 6:15 6 1 for Edgar - 1:16 7 I Wanna Be Your Hand - 4:13 8 Bridge and Tunnel - 4:17 9 Don't Look Down - 5:24 10 In the Red - 2:19 11 Cheap Shots - 5:31

© 2000-2013 Good Records Inc, A Division of the Good Umbrella.