Welcome to GoodRecords.com

…an adventure in listening.

1808 Lower Greenville Ave.

Dallas, TX 75206


America Eats Its Young

More Views


America Eats Its Young

12" LP

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

(2-LP set) The 4th album from George Clinton's funk/psych/rock outfit, originally released in 1972, is a double LP of epic proportions. Deep and heavy grooves propelled by the always amazing guitar, bass and keyboard work of Eddie Hazel, William 'Bootsy' Collins, and Bernie Worrell, respectively. Equally sleazy, political, heartfelt, and just plain bizarre, America Eats Its Young was, and remains, one of the few double albums of the 1970s that warranted every single minute of wax. Reissued on 180 gram vinyl in a deluxe tip-on gatefold jacket.


A double album and worth every minute of it, America Eats Its Young makes for a freaky, funky, and aware good time. Compared to the endless slabs of double-album dreck that came out around the same time from all sources, here Funkadelic brought life, soul, and much more to the party. With George Clinton credited only for arranging and producing, here the mad cast he brought together went all out. Bernie Worrell in particular now had a new importance, credited as co-arranger with Clinton as well as handling string and horn charts on a number of songs. His surging, never-stop keyboards, meanwhile, took control from the start, with his magnificent lead break on the opening "You Hit the Nail on the Head" making for one of the best performances ever on Hammond organ. Bootsy Collins (credited as William) is also somewhere in the crowd on bass and vocals, while old favorites like Eddie Hazel and Tiki Fulwood, among many others, can be found. Perhaps to fill in the time, a few numbers from the first Parliament album, Osmium, two years before cropped up, namely "Loose Booty" and the hilariously sleazy "I Call My Baby Pussycat," here performed with a noticeably slower, dirty groove. The straightforward social call to arms appears throughout, with one song title saying it all -- "If You Don't Like the Effects, Don't Produce the Cause." Other winners include the vicious title track, combining everything from mysterious, doom-laden voices and weeping wails to slow, sad music, and the concluding "Wake Up," while "Everybody Is Going to Make It This Time" is a lovely, gospel-informed ballad that heads for the skies and hearts.

Additional Information

Artist Funk
Track Listing 1 You Hit the Nail on the Head - 7:13 2 If You Don't Like the Effects, Don't Produce the Cause - 3:48 3 Everybody Is Going to Make It This Time - 5:58 4 A Joyful Process - 6:17 5 We Hurt Too - 3:53 6 Loose Booty - 4:54 7 Philmore - 2:34 8 I Call My Baby Pussycat - 5:09 9 America Eats Its Young - 5:54 10 Biological Speculation - 3:09 11 That Was My Girl - 3:48 12 Balance - 5:33 13 Miss Lucifer's Love - 5:58 14 Wake Up - 6:32

© 2000-2013 Good Records Inc, A Division of the Good Umbrella.