Welcome to GoodRecords.com

…an adventure in listening.

1808 Lower Greenville Ave.

Dallas, TX 75206



More Views

Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros


12" LP

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros have announced that they are currently in the studio recording the follow-up to their debut album, Up From Below. After an early session in Bogalusa, LA, the band has been recording at their studio in Ojai, CA. The album is self-produced and released through Community Music / Vagrant Records.

Hailed by Spin Magazine as a perfect example of rock's new order, Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros will hit the road this March, playing a run of dates showcasing some of the new music and giving fans a taste of what's to come.

Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros recently created and launched a tumblr page to showcase various fan pieces they have and continue to discover on the web as well as their own yet to be unveiled special content. The tumblr page is a central place to dive into the community that is Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros, and will be continuously updated by the band.


With Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros, Alex Ebert made the dramatic 180 from sleazy electroclash-leaning punk singer in his former band Ima Robot to grizzly bearded bandleader in an 11-piece down-home freak folk revue, bright psychedelic colors and farmhouse harmonies replacing his not too distant past of black leather and smirky sneers. The band's debut album, Up from Below, had some bright moments when the strength of the songwriting cut through the affectation. A few years later, Here is much the same. The album opens strongly, with the undeniably catchy pair of tunes "Man on Fire" and "That's What's Up," both rising to handclapping summits of old-fashioned Southern revival and jug band jubilation. Lead vocalist Jade Castrinos reprises her role trading verses with Ebert on these songs and later takes center stage on the electrified "Fiya Wata." Castrinos' contributions feel spirited and from the gut. Later on in the album, many nods are made to various influences from different sects of hippie culture, including Bob Marley and Jerry Garcia.

Additional Information

Artist Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros
Track Listing 1 Man on Fire - 4:19 2 That's What's Up - 3:52 3 I Don't Wanna Pray - 3:26 4 Mayla - 5:42 5 Dear Believer - 4:46 6 Child - 3:09 7 One Love to Another - 3:32 8 Fiya Wata - 4:12 9 All Wash Out - 4:40

© 2000-2013 Good Records Inc, A Division of the Good Umbrella.