Welcome to GoodRecords.com

…an adventure in listening.

1808 Lower Greenville Ave.

Dallas, TX 75206


Impossible Truth

More Views

William Tyler

Impossible Truth

12" LP

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

Spin.com premiered "Cadillac Desert" from Impossible Truth, writing " "Cadillac Desert," the first glimpse of Tyler's upcoming Impossible Truth, due out March 19 on Merge, is a layered, textured six-plus-minute track that gleams with enough surface-level beauty to appeal to listeners who'd rather zone out than admire technical prowess audiences who just might reach for this when they're in the mood for the slide-guitar reveries of Beach House, the ambient singer-songwriter haze of Grouper, or the slow-motion fireworks of Galaxie 500."


Rooted in apocalyptic expectation and bittersweet nostalgia, Tyler describes the record as ''my ’70s singer-songwriter record; it just doesn’t have any words.'' 2010’s Behold the Spirit, William Tyler’s first album under his own name, was celebrated by Pitchfork as ''the most vital, energized album by an American solo guitarist in a decade or more'' and established him as a critical favorite. Impossible Truth will challenge your ideas of what an instrumental guitar record can and should be. As his friend and tour mate M.C. Taylor from Hiss Golden Messenger puts it, ''William will worry a phrase, some tangled chordal wormhole, until you are certain it’s all that exists. He’ll take you over the stiles, he’ll love you up and down, and then he’ll make you cry for the world and what we’ve done to it."

Additional Information

Artist William Tyler
Track Listing 1 Country of Illusion 2 The Geography of Nowhere 3 Cadillac Desert 4 We Can't Go Home Again 5 A Portrait of Sarah 6 Hotel Catatonia 7 The Last Residents of Westfall 8 The World Set Free

© 2000-2013 Good Records Inc, A Division of the Good Umbrella.