Welcome to GoodRecords.com

…an adventure in listening.

1808 Lower Greenville Ave.

Dallas, TX 75206


Lessons In The Woods Or A City

More Views

Talbot Tagora

Lessons In The Woods Or A City

12" LP

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

Talbot Tagora is a three-person project from Seattle who create and produce art and non-fiction. This record is presented as a series of lessons; a series of abstractions for the senses.


The Pacific Northwest's understated legacy of spiky, clangorous post-punk -- sometimes too easily lost in the perceptions of garage rock beerfests and fuzz-and-flannel blowouts -- got a new boost in 2009 with Talbot Tagora's debut album, Lessons in the Woods or a City, with the trio's work feeling far more in the vein of Ein Heit and the A Frames than Soundgarden and the Young Fresh Fellows. With staccato bass and guitar notes leading the way on songs like "Mixed Signals Through Miles of Pilgrimage," "Hairspray," and "Black Ice," it can almost feel like a bit of no wave noise courtesy of the Glenn Branca wing of performers filtered through a chuggingly catchy songwriting knack. If a song like "Ichthus Hop" doesn't immediately seem like an earworm, the steady chant-singing of Chris Ando and especially Ani Ricci serves as the key throughout much of the album, sometimes buried in the murk but a keening anchor to hang onto while the band grinds and grooves. Strange moments of sudden, almost uplifting resonance, like the start of "Solar Puppets" and nearly everything about "Perception Stick," add to the enthralling energy. The intentionally hollow but not muffled sound that the band created on the songs further adds to the feeling of unsettled intensity throughout, with some of the meaner bass sounds in particular rivaling anything from sessions an engineer like Steve Albini has worked on over the years. There's restraint here and there -- "Hidden Note," for all its speed, feels almost like a power ballad in context thanks to its flowing instead of crushing bass -- but it is, again, in context of a surging whole.

Additional Information

Artist Talbot Tagora
Track Listing 1. Mixed Signals Through Miles Of Pilgrimage 4:09 2. Ichthus Hop 2:26 3. Bounty Hunter 1:35 4. Solar Puppets 2:31 5. Hunger Strike 2:56 6. Black Ice 2:37 7. Mouth Rainboy 2:56 8. Hidden Note 2:50 9. Hairspray 2:51 10. Johnny Lazor 2:54 11. Replacing The Northwest 3:43 12. Perception Stick 3:00 13. Belt Of Cancer 2:33 14. Ephemeral Summer

© 2000-2013 Good Records Inc, A Division of the Good Umbrella.