Welcome to GoodRecords.com

…an adventure in listening.

1808 Lower Greenville Ave.

Dallas, TX 75206



More Views

Stephin Merritt


12" LP

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

Merge Records presents Obscurities by Stephin Merritt, a collection of Merritt's hard-to-find recordings dating back to his time on Merge (1994 1999) and prior, as well as five previously unreleased tracks.


B-sides and rarities collections can often help give fans insight into their favorite artists’ creative processes, or at the very least, provide either a light snack between releases or a post-retirement victory lap, but when an artist as prolific as Stephin Merritt decides to clean house, it can be a little daunting. Over the years, Merritt's seemingly endless supply of wry, melodic, basement electro-folk songs has required him to use multiple pseudonyms (Magnetic Fields, the 6ths, the Gothic Archies), nearly all which of make an appearance on Obscurities. At its best, the collection stirs some up left-field gems like “Forever and a Day” and “When You’re Young and in Love,” both of which were pulled from an unfinished musical called The Song from Venus, and the breezy Wasps’ Nest outtake “Yet Another Girl.”

Additional Information

Artist Stephin Merritt
Track Listing 1 Forever and a Day [#] - 1:57 2 Rats in the Garbage of the Western World - 2:16 3 I Don't Believe You - 3:06 4 Plant White Roses - 3:28 5 Rot in the Sun - 3:04 6 The Sun and the Sea and the Sky [#] - 2:09 7 Yet Another Girl - 3:40 8 Scream ('Till You Make the Scene) [#] - 3:02 9 The Song from Venus [#] - 2:25 10 Beach-A-Boop-Boop - 1:39 11 When I'm Not Looking, You're Not There - 2:10 12 Take Ecstasy with Me - 3:33 13 When You're Young and in Love [#] - 2:51 14 You Are Not My Mother and I Want to Go Home - 2:52

© 2000-2013 Good Records Inc, A Division of the Good Umbrella.