Welcome to GoodRecords.com

…an adventure in listening.

1808 Lower Greenville Ave.

Dallas, TX 75206


The Inevitable Past Is The Future Forgotten

More Views

Three Mile Pilot

The Inevitable Past Is The Future Forgotten

12" LP

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

Are we really here? Is this really happening? When we say that we never thought this day would come, we REALLY mean it. The rumor of a new Three Mile Pilot album has been circulating for over a decade, further fueling the mystery and mythology that has swirled around the San Diego trio since the 1997 release of what was thought to be their swan song, the enormously influential Another Desert, Another Sea. That brings us to the aptly-named The Inevitable Past Is The Future Forgotten, the first Three Mile Pilot album in 13 years.


After 13 years, influential San Diego indie rock trio Three Mile Pilot returned with 2010’s The Inevitable Past Is the Future Forgotten. While the band has always been overshadowed by the members’ more popular side projects (Armistead Burwell Smith IV co-founded Pinback, to be joined later by Tom Zinser, and Pall Jenkins went on to form the Black Heart Procession), 3MP’s reunion album illustrates that they were a defining force in the indie scene -- underground or not. The songs bleed the blood of Pinback and Black Heart, but there’s a magic chemistry between Smith, Zinser, and Jenkins that makes their music unique. The Inevitable Past picks up where 1997’s Another Desert, Another Sea left off, with cathartic but punchy rounds of bass, guitar, and drums accented by piano, organs, and airy vocals. The setting is continually pastoral, but in 3MP's maturity, they’ve developed a more poppy accessibility. Bittersweet songs like “Grey Clouds” and “What I Lose” are more subdued than prior work, but ultimately The Inevitable Past is a solid addition to the discography of an indie rock fixture.

Additional Information

Artist Three Mile Pilot
Track Listing 1 Battle - 4:32 2 Still Alive - 4:53 3 Grey Clouds - 4:52 4 Same Mistake - 4:04 5 What I Lose - 5:00 6 Left in Vain - 3:55 7 The Threshold - 4:44 8 One Falls Away - 4:11 9 Days of Wrath - 4:06 10 Planets - 3:41 11 What's in the Air - 5:45 12 The Premonition - 3:31

© 2000-2013 Good Records Inc, A Division of the Good Umbrella.