Welcome to GoodRecords.com

…an adventure in listening.

1808 Lower Greenville Ave.

Dallas, TX 75206



More Views

Neil Young


12" LP

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

The 12-track live album, A Treasure includes songs - 5 of which are previously unreleased - recorded during Young's 1984 and 1985 U.S. tours without the support of an album, or Young's then record label due to unique and unusual circumstances. Among those, "Grey Riders" will be the first track serviced to radio. A Treasure features Young's onstage work with some of the greatest artists in the history of Country music, including the late, great Ben Keith on steel and slide guitar and Rufus Thibodeaux on fiddle, along with living legends Spooner Oldham and Hargus "Pig" Robbins on piano, Tim Drummond and Joe Allen on bass, Anthony Crawford on mandolin & guitars and Karl Himmel on drums, among many others. A Treasure is Young's first release since last year's Grammy and Juno Award-winning album, Le Noise. The live album captures this iconic artist during a fascinating time in his career, when he was facing criticism and lawsuits from his then current record company for exploring a more traditionally country sound. "You can call me erratic," Young said when asked at the time about his tendency toward musical shape-shifting, "but I've been consistent about it, consistently erratic." Always celebrated for his musical versatility, A Treasure, is akin to a sonic time capsule, instantly transporting the listener to the time and place when it was made. "I love this record," Young says. "I hadn't heard these takes in 25 years, but when we unearthed them co-producer Ben Keith said, 'This is a treasure.'"


Volume 9 of Neil Young's long-delayed, suddenly prodigious Archives series, A Treasure chronicles Neil’s 1984-1985 tour with the International Harvesters, a crackerjack assemblage of country pros featuring guitarist Ben Keith, pianist Hargus “Pig” Robbins, fiddler Rufus Thibodeaux, and Spooner Oldham. This is one of Young's famous left turns, as he abandoned the tightly wound electro of Trans and the hipster rockabilly of Everybody’s Rockin’ for a trip back to the country, cutting Old Ways then hitting the road with the International Harvesters. Old Ways was a little stilted but the same can’t be said of A Treasure: this is vivid and alive, pulsating with a palpable joy. Their energy boosts the Old Ways material, giving it welcome blood and muscle, but A Treasure runs far broader than that one album. Young overhauls two cuts from Re*Ac*Tor, turning “Motor City” and “Southern Pacific” into a honky tonk stomp and a chugging country ballad, respectively, reworks Buffalo Springfield's “Flying on the Ground Is Wrong,” covers Joe London's country chestnut “It Might Have Been” and, most significantly for the hardcore, there are five unreleased Young originals here: a sweetly rambling ode to his daughter “Amber Jean,” an excellent slice of Texan honky tonk with “Let Your Fingers Do the Walking,” the rowdy barroom blues of “Soul of a Woman,” the working man protest of “Nothing Is Perfect,” and Crazy Horse stomp “Grey Riders.” The unheard tunes are all first-rate, but what’s really notable about A Treasure is that it offers a compelling document of how good the International Harvesters were and, in turn, makes sense of a somewhat murky period for Neil Young.

Additional Information

Artist Neil Young
Track Listing 1 Amber Jean - 3:17 2 Are You Ready for the Country? - 3:38 3 It Might Have Been - 2:43 4 Bound for Glory - 5:58 5 Let Your Fingers Do the Walking - 3:03 6 Flying on the Ground Is Wrong - 4:47 7 Motor City - 3:22 8 Soul of a Woman - 4:27 9 Get Back to the Country - 2:31 10 Southern Pacific - 7:52 11 Nothing Is Perfect - 5:01 12 Grey Riders - 5:58

© 2000-2013 Good Records Inc, A Division of the Good Umbrella.