Back to All Events

Ronnie Fauss Live From The Astroturf

Ronnie Fauss returns with his third album Last Of The True on October 27, 2017 via New West’s imprint, Normaltown Records. 

The 13-track set is the strongest, widest-reaching album of Fauss’ career, with ten new original songs and three updated takes on covers that include tunes popularized by Uncle Tupelo (“New Madrid”) and Okkervil River (“The Velocity Of Saul At The Time Of His Conversion”), as well as a piano-fueled version of Bob Dylan's “Don't Think Twice (It's All Right).” 

For Last Of The True, the Dallas, TX-native also teamed up with indie-folk rocker Ben Kweller for the album’s single “Saginaw Paper Mill.” The Black Balloon-directed video for the track previously premiered at American Songwriter, who calls it “a crunchy, devil-may-care rocker with honky-tonk piano and some hazy, road-trip ready visuals to boot.” 

Following the album’s release, Fauss will perform at the annual Dallas Observer Music Awards showcase on December 2, for which he has been honored with a nomination in the “Best Country Act” category. He has also announced a Fall Texas tour that includes dates with Hayes Carll and Rhett Miller (of Old 97’s). Please see below for full tour details with more shows to be announced soon. 

Last Of The True includes instrumental backing from members of Jason Isbell, Justin Townes Earle, Rodney Crowell, and Emmylou Harris' touring bands and was produced by Fauss himself, who worked alongside engineer and former Centro-Matic drummer Matt Pence (Jason Isbell, Sarah Jaffe, Nikki Lane) at Pence’s Echo Lab Studio. “I didn't want to leave anything on the table when I was recording this album,” Fauss comments, “I wanted to empty my notebook.” A genuine fan of the Americana catalog, he looked to his own record collection for inspiration and nods to those influences throughout Last Of The True. The final product is something quite rare: a modern-day Americana gem, as well as a celebration of the older sounds that influenced the genre. 

Last Of The True follows Fauss’ 2014 LP Built To Break, which included a collaboration with Old 97’s Rhett Miller and gained praise from CMT, Country Weekly, American Songwriter, The Boot, No Depression, Texas Monthly, and more. Of the sophomore effort, Texas Monthly applauded, “Fauss’s supercharged country rock will ring a bell for any Old 97’s fan. But lines like ‘I got a lot of love inside me / And that’s where it’s gonna stay’ prove that he has smarts and attitude all his own;” and Chris Hillman (of The Byrds, Desert Rose Band, Flying Burrito Brothers) exclaimed, “This young man has the goods and then some." Built To Break was preceded by Fauss’ Normaltown Records debut I Am The Man You Know I’m Not (2012) that The New York Times deemed “memorable” and “clever,” and American Songwriter added, “...we think he hit the mark.”

Elaborating on his direction behind the new material, Fauss comments, “I stretched myself in new ways. I sat down and played piano on a Bob Dylan cover. I wrote a polka song and a back-porch bluegrass number. I explored the Laurel Canyon sound, and I tried to shine a light on some of the artists who've influenced me, too. I cast a wider net this time because I wanted to capture more sounds I like." The result is an album that fires twin barrels of Texas twang and Nashville nuance. There are no borders here. No rules or restrictions. Instead, Fauss has made a cross-country Americana record for bars, listening rooms, pool halls, and car stereos. From the dobro arpeggios and bluegrass-worthy stomp of "No One To Blame But Yourself" to the guitar-based heartland rock of "Twenty Two Years," Last Of The True is everything its title promises: a blast of something real and authentic, delivered right when we need it most. 

Last Of The True Track Listing:
1. Big Leagues
2. Twenty-Two Years
3. New Madrid
4. Being Alone
5. I Think We’re Going To Be Okay
6. Saginaw Paper Mill (featuring Ben Kweller)
7. There Is An Irrigation Problem In Gilroy
8. Big Umbrella
9. It’s A Choice
10. The Velocity Of Saul At The Time Of His Conversion
11. Bright Lights Of L.A.
12. No One To Blame But Yourself
13. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right

Ronnie Fauss On Tour:
October 17 – Denton, TX @ Dan's Silverleaf*
October 21 – Goldthwaite, TX @ Goldthwaite Music Festival  
October 28 – Dallas TX @ Good Records  
November 10 – San Antonio, TX @ Sam's Burger Joint^
November 28 – Richardson, TX @ Main Street Tavern  
December 2 – Dallas, TX @ Dallas Observer Music Awards
*with Hayes Carll
^with Rhett Miller (of Old 97’s)